Law enforcement officers in Washington can arrest you for obvious impairment behind the wheel or blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. For a conviction, you can receive expensive fines, license suspension and other legal consequences.
Review the possible penalties for a conviction of driving under the influence in Washington state.
This charge applies if you have no history of DUI in the past seven years. A conviction can result in:
- $550 to $5,200 in fines
- Either one to 364 days in jail, 15 days of house arrest or 90 days in full-time substance use disorder treatment depending on the results of an evaluation
- License suspension for 90 days
- 12-month ignition interlock device requirement
If you refuse to take a breath test at the scene or had a BAC of 0.15% or higher at the time of arrest, minimum fines start at $750 and license suspension extends to 12 months. The judge may also extend the jail, treatment or house arrest sentence.
A subsequent DUI in a seven-year period results in increased penalties for a conviction, including:
- $700 to $5,200 in fines
- Either 45 to 364 days in jail, 60 days of house arrest or six months in full-time substance use disorder treatment
- License suspension for two years
- Five-year ignition interlock device requirement
Additional penalties also apply for a second DUI involving an elevated BAC, breath test refusal or underage passenger. If you have a commercial driver’s license, it may be subject to cancellation after the first DUI offense.